Message from Our President

Welcome to the 2020-2021 League year! I am honored to serve as the 98th President of the Junior League of Portland, ME - thank you for entrusting me.
In my Annual Meeting speech, you heard me reflect back about the impact our League has made in the community for the last 97 years and share excitement as we begin to plan for our centennial.  I also asked that we all be open to new ideas, to embrace whatever discomfort comes our way, and to help create the League that we need to be, not the League we have always been.

I want to take a moment to reiterate the message we made in June in response to the killing of George Floyd, an unarmed Black man:

The Junior League is committed to exemplifying what it means to be an anti-racist organization. For nearly 100 years, we have worked tirelessly in greater Portland as leaders on issues of inequality, inequity, and injustice including hunger and food insecurity, sexual exploitation, creation of supportive environments for youth and children, intimate partner violence, access to quality health care, and many others. JLP's commitment to diversity, equity and inclusion is part of the Strategic Plan as well as the 2020-2021 Annual Plan and is as important as ever.  As we forge ahead, together, our Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Task Force will work to provide members with resources and opportunities to engage in discussion and learn from one another. We invite you to check out this list of resources for further learning and education.

I want you to know that our work does not end here. We are fortunate to have a dedicated Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Task Force that is committed to giving our members ongoing shared spaces for learning and connection as well as a drive for building a more inclusive JLP.  Moving forward, each Newsletter will include a DEI Highlight (like the below book club experience) to support these efforts, and we welcome any feedback and questions.
Our Board is empowered by our Annual Plan, which establishes the steps we will take this year to move us toward our vision and goals. DEI is at the forefront of our planning.
With COVID-19, I know that much is uncertain right now, especially in regards to meeting in person.  I want you to know that we are committed to meeting our mission of developing the potential of women, even if we can’t meet in person!

The next few months will be full of reimaging what this year will look like - this is new for all of us. But together, we are much stronger than we are alone. Remember to lean on your fellow members as we continue to move forward in these uncertain times.
Please feel free to reach out to me anytime at and follow our activities on our Instagram account: @JLPMaine
Thank you so much and I look forward to serving as the 98th President of the Junior League of Portland.

Jessica Nason
President, 2020-2021